Eddie’s Sweet Shop

By popular demand (well, one person asked for it, so that’s good enough for me) I am going to talk about another old time ice cream shop located in Queens: Eddie’s Sweet Shop in Forest Hills.  I wanted to do a write-up about this place before the end of the summer, anyway.

Eddie’s Sweet Shop is located at 105-29 Metropolitan Avenue, Forest Hills NY 11375.  I’m not sure exactly how long they’ve been in business, but according to their Facebook page, Eddie’s is “a century old.”  Believe me, it shows… and I mean that in a good way!  Eddie’s is a really old fashioned looking ice cream parlor, with classic-looking wood-paneled décor, a marble-topped counter with stools up front, and a decades-old cash register.  It’s incredibly charming and intimate.  The ice cream is delicious and, if the hype is to be believed, home-made.  It certainly tastes better than most of the store and chain brands out there.  In addition to their sundaes and milkshakes, Eddie’s has a large glass counter full of candies for sale; nothing fancy, but it’s a charming addition to the ice cream.

Eddie’s is located across the street from Cinemart Cinemas, a really cool second-run movie theater, and the Theater Café, a film-themed casual dining restaurant.  Often my girlfriend and I will catch the bus to Forest Hills, go to the Café for dinner, catch a movie, and then afterwards cross the street to get dessert at Eddie’s.  We’re usually not the only ones who have that idea, as Eddie’s often gets extremely packed when the movies let out.  This is especially true in the summer.  But even in the middle of the winter, when it’s freezing cold outside, movie-goers will flock to Eddie’s for ice cream afterwards.  That’s how good the place is.

This is the kind of place you would have expected a young Peter Parker to hang out in during his teenage years (remember, Spider-Man is from Forest Hills).  Or, as my girlfriend once suggested, Eddie’s is where Archie would take Betty and Veronica for an ice cream sundae while futilely attempting to decide for the umpteenth time which of those two beauties he wanted to pledge his heart to.  In other words, Eddie’s is like something out of an old comic book, or maybe a time warp.  It really has to be seen, because it’s sometimes difficult to believe that places this cool still exist.  If you happen to be in the area, I highly recommend stopping in for a scoop or two.

Below are some photos I took at Eddie’s Sweet Shop last summer.  I haven’t been there in a few months, but hopefully I’ll have another opportunity before the end of the summer.

eddies sweet shop 01

eddies sweet shop 02

eddies sweet shop 03

eddies sweet shop 04

One thought on “Eddie’s Sweet Shop

  1. Ben, thank you so much for this post. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, I AM the one who requested Ben write about Eddie’s Sweet Shop. Actually, I informed him that he must do so, but I digress.

    Although I live in New Jersey, I have a lot of clients and students that live in New York City, especially Manhattan, Brooklyn and Queens. I was introduced to Eddie’s Sweet Shop by a now former client and student, but I remain forever thankful to her that she did.

    I have been there a handful of times, but every time I went I was very happy with the service and prices, and ESPECIALLY happy with the desserts! Also, in spite of going at different times and days of the week, Eddie’s is usually packed; the times I went, more than fifty per cent of the tables were in use and yes, many motion picture viewers go there after their cinema experience.

    I AM a tad chagrined at how long it has been since I last went to Eddie’s Sweet Shop, but this blog post is a great incentive for me to return, ASAP. Thanks, again, Ben!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

